LAB Artists

For one year, five local artists from different disciplines realize their research projects in the Kaserne LAB. This will provide sustainable support for regional theater, dance and music. The Kaserne LAB includes artists who regularly perform at Kaserne as well as artists from partner houses in the region, who can also continue their research projects outside Kaserne.  

How to apply for the Kaserne LAB?

Applications for the Kaserne LAB are possible in January of the relative year. The call for application will be published on this site.

The selection will be communicated shortly after the application deadline.

The Kaserne LAB in the 2023/2024 season is funded by the Ernst-Göhner Foundation. The accompaniment with sign language interpreters is supported by the Eckenstein-Geigy Foundation.

Coordination Kaserne LAB: Julia Ritter (Care & Share) 
j.ritter@kaserne-basel.ch

Filter by season: 2023/2024 2024/2025 All

Declan Whitaker

Porträt von Declan Whitaker
© Binta Kopp
Residency:

Declan (he/him) is a dancer and choreographer interested in high and low culture in equal measure.

More Info

Declan is a dancer and choreographer based in Basel. His choreographic interest lies with implicit expression, pop aesthetics and the border between fantasy and reality. He holds a Master of Arts from London Contemporary Dance School and has completed other artistic education courses at SKH/UniArts, Stockholm. Declan is also part of The Field, the associated collective at Tanzhaus Zürich where he has worked with Ofelia Jarl Ortega, Meg Stuart, Isabel Lewis and Simone Aughterlony. Declan regularly collaborates with the choreographer Frédéric Gies and has also performed with Martina-Sofie Wildberger and Martin Forsberg amongst others. His choreographic work has been shown at ROXY, Tanzhaus Zürich, Tanzplan Ost, PACT Zollverein (DE), Kunsthal Charlottenborg (DK), The Place (UK). In 2019 he received the danceWEB scholarship at ImPulsTanz and in 2023, was part of Springback Academy in the frame of Aerowaves. 


Jana Furrer

Porträt von Jana Furrer
© Emma Lou Shifaz
Residency:

Jana Furrer (she/her) creates stage spaces and costume designs, based on transformations and the speculation of «it-could-be-so», which are build on memories and associations.

More Info

Jana lives in Basel and works for state theatres and independent venues. She studied interior design and scenography at HGK FHNW Basel with an exchange semester in the stage and costume design class at KHB Weissensee Berlin.
Afterwards she has worked as an assistent at Theater Basel and Schauspielhaus Zürich, among others. 

In her work, she is interested in the immediate and the unpredictable. She works with clear references and puts them speculatively into new visual realities.
Jana collaborates with others to search for a collective language in which to talk about the spaces that surround us and their narratives. She works with the groups hexen flexen, schwestern and rat. 


Miriam Coretta Schulte

Porträt von Miriam Coretta Schulte
© Tariq Bajwa
Residency:

Miriam Coretta Schulte (she/they) is a theatre maker and performer who went back to university for studying migration law and legal gender studies. She is convinced that science fiction is an amazing source to develop abolitionist visions.

More Info

Miriam grew up in Frankfurt am Main and studied theatre studies and directing in Hildesheim and Giessen, but mostly in Paris. She has been living in Basel since 2013 and works as a freelance theatre maker, performer and dramaturge. In 2017, she went to Cairo for three months with a scholarship from Pro Helvetia, and has spent time there every year since then, working with artists from the region. Together with the Egyptian performer and activist Salma Said, she has developed several theatre pieces, as well as workshops on the topic of «Imaginative Justice».

In 2020, she began working for NGOs in the field of migration in Basel during the pandemic and has been studying migration law and legal gender studies part-time ever since. In her artistic work, she is increasingly concerned with the abysses of the migration regime and the potential that lies in a radical reshaping of legal fictions (most recently in the theatre piece «Court Fantasies», 2023 at Kaserne Basel). She is also a co-founder of the queer-feminist reading group «Blasphemic Reading Soirées» and reads tons of anti-colonial science fiction as a starting point for new visions.


Ophelia Young

Porträt von Ophelia Young
Residency:

Ophelia Young (she/her) is a dancer and performer and works internationally in various contexts and collaborations.

More Info

She works hybrid in institutional contexts and as a freelancer. For several years, she has been trying to strike a balance between performing «for others» and self-initiated projects. She lives in Basel.

She is interested in combining themes of «being human» with movement, processing them in transdisciplinary contexts and making them tangible.
She would like to continue working on this approach in her LAB:
How do you as a creator create situations in which a public can gather to deal with topics somatically, playfully and intellectually and perhaps as a consequence gain an experience, an insight and/or a reflected attitude towards a topic.

She has been working on the topic of emotions for years - the emotional body. She would like to explore emotionality in relation to social contexts such as work and the public sphere. How can people use this valuable information, which the body constantly provides, to create, to enter into relationships and to work creatively with and for each other?

Artmann & Duvoisin, Ensemble Ballett Basel, Ben J Riepe, Christine Auberger, Dimitris Papaioannou, Fabrice Mazliah, Julie Shanahan, Katharina Weisheit, L Twills, Magdalena Weniger/ KOMA&Ko, Maria Schmid, Mario Eick, Mertixel Aumedes, Michaela Christensen, Mirjam Klebel, Nazareth Panadero, OFEN Co-Arts Platform, Oleg Stepanov, Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch, Tim Etchells, PACT Zollverein, Pina Bausch Foundation, Regina Advento, Rodolpho Leoni, Rosi Kunz, Saar Magal, Stefan Brinkmann, Saburo Teshigawara and Rihoko Sato, Malou Airaudo, Senga Nengudi, and many more. *

*Selective listing of influential encounters in alphabetical order,
However, this does not do justice to the eclectic mass of influences and valuable encounters <3

 

 

 


Robin Michel

Porträt von Robin Michel
© Balázs Mohai
Residency:

Robin Michel (he/him) is an electronic musician and artist with a broad focus on electronic sound generation.

More Info

His involvement with electronic music ranges from computer music, drum machines, and analogue synthesizers to modular synthesizers and DIY projects. He is also active in various music projects. At the beginning of the year, Michel and Mikolaj Rytowski toured Switzerland and abroad with the audiovisual performance «Kolloid». In addition to concerts in Switzerland, they also performed «Kolloid» at the Naxos Halle in Frankfurt and the «House of Music Hungary» in Budapest. 

Michel is currently working on an installation for the Rümlingen Festival and is collaborating with the composer Anna Sowa and the duo Mao Zhu and Li Kun on the «Bamboo Shoots» project as part of Pro Helvetia's co-creation programme. After earning his first bachelor's degree at the Institut Kunst Basel, he completed another bachelor's degree and a master's degree in audio design at the Musikakademie Basel. In 2022, he received the inaugural Eduard Brunner Composition Prize for the piece «Formen». In addition to his work as a musician, he works freelance on technical development and sound design for art projects and exhibitions.

LAB Artists

Im Kaserne LAB realisieren fünf lokale Künstler*innen unterschiedlicher Disziplinen ein Jahr lang ihre Rechercheprojekte. Damit wird das regionale Theater-, Tanz und Musikschaffen nachhaltig gefördert. Teil des Kaserne LAB sind Künstler*innen, die regelmässig an der Kaserne auftreten sowie Künstler*innen von Partnerhäusern der Region, wobei sie ihre Rechercheprojekte auch ausserhalb der Kaserne weiterführen können.  

Wie bewerbe ich mich für das Kaserne LAB?

Bewerbungen für das Kaserne LAB sind jeweils bis Januar des Jahres möglich, die Ausschreibungen werden u.a. an dieser Stelle bekannt gegeben.

Das Kaserne LAB in der Saison 2023/2024 wird durch die Ernst-Göhner Stiftung gefördert. Die Begleitung mit Gebärdensprachdolmetscher*innen wird unterstützt durch die Eckenstein-Geigy Stiftung.

Koordination Kaserne LAB: Julia Ritter (Care & Share) 
j.ritter@kaserne-basel.ch

 

Nach Saison filtern: 2023/2024 2024/2025 Alle

Declan Whitaker

Porträt von Declan Whitaker
© Binta Kopp
Residenz:

Declan (he/him) ist Tänzer und Choreograf und interessiert sich für E- und U-Kultur gleichermassen.

Mehr Infos

Declan ist Tänzer und Choreograf und lebt in Basel. Sein choreografisches Interesse gilt der implicit expression, Pop-Ästhetik und der Grenze zwischen Fantasie und Realität. Declan hat einen Master of Arts der London Contemporary Dance School und weitere künstlerische Ausbildungskurse an der SKH/UniArts in Stockholm absolviert. Declan ist auch Teil von The Field, dem assoziierten Kollektiv am Tanzhaus Zürich, wo er mit Ofelia Jarl Ortega, Meg Stuart, Isabel Lewis und Simone Aughterlony gearbeitet hat. Declan hat ausserdem regelmässig mit dem Choreografen Frédéric Gies zusammengearbeitet und ist unter anderem mit Martina-Sofie Wildberger und Martin Forsberg aufgetreten. Seine choreografischen Arbeiten wurden am ROXY, Tanzhaus Zürich, Tanzplan Ost, PACT Zollverein (DE), Kunsthal Charlottenborg (DK), The Place (UK) gezeigt. Im Jahr 2019 erhielt er das danceWEB Stipendium bei ImPulsTanz und war 2023 Teil der Springback Academy im Rahmen von Aerowaves.


Jana Furrer

Porträt von Jana Furrer
© Emma Lou Shifaz
Residenz:

Jana Furrer (she/her) entwickelt Bühnen- und Kostümbilder und schafft anhand Transformationen und der Spekulation von «es-könnte-so-sein» Räume, die auf Erinnerungen und Assoziationen aufbauen.

Mehr Infos

Jana lebt in Basel und arbeitet an Stadttheatern und freien Produktionshäusern. Sie studierte im Bachelor Innenarchitektur und Szenografie an der HGK FHNW Basel mit Gastsemester in der Bühnen- und Kostümbildklasse der KHB Weißensee, Berlin.
Anschliessend assistierte sie u.a am Theater Basel und Schauspielhaus Zürich. 

In ihrer künstlerischen Praxis interessiert sie das Unmittelbare sowie das Unvorhersehbare. Dabei arbeitet sie mit klaren Referenzen und setzt diese spekulativ in neue Bildrealitäten.
Jana arbeitet mit Kompliz*innen, um nach einer kollektiven Sprache zu suchen und so über die Räume, die uns umgeben und deren Narrative zu sprechen. Sie arbeitet u.a. mit den Gruppen hexen flexen, schwestern und rat.


Miriam Coretta Schulte

Porträt von Miriam Coretta Schulte
© Tariq Bajwa
Residenz:

Miriam Coretta Schulte (she/they) ist Theatermacherin und Performerin. Sie studiert Migrationsrecht und Legal Gender Studies und versucht, aus Science Fiction abolitionistische Visionen zu entwickeln.

Mehr Infos

Miriam wuchs in Frankfurt am Main auf und studierte Theaterwissenschaften und - regie in Hildesheim und Giessen, sowie vier Jahre lang in Paris. Seit 2013 lebt sie in Basel und arbeitet als freischaffende Theatermacherin, Performerin und Dramaturgin. Mit eine Stipendium von Pro Helvetia ging sie 2017 das erste Mal für 3 Monate nach Kairo, verbringt seitdem jedes Jahr Zeit dort und arbeitet mit Künstler*innen aus der Region. Mit der ägyptischen Performerin und Aktivistin Salma Said hat sie verschiedene Theaterstücke entwickelt, sowie Workshops zum Thema «Imaginative» Justice.

2020 begann sie während der Pandemie bei NGOs im Migrationsbereich in Basel mitzuarbeiten und studiert seitdem nebenberuflich Migrationsrecht und Legal Gender Studies. In ihren künstlerischen Arbeiten beschäftigt sie sich zunehmend mit den Abgründen des Migrationsregimes und dem Potenzial, das in einer radikalen Neugestaltung von Rechtsfiktionen liegt (zuletzt im Theaterstück «Court Fantasies», 2023 an der Kaserne Basel). Sie ist außerdem Mitbegründerin des queerfeministischen Lesekreis «Blasphemic Reading Soirées» und liest kiloweise antikolonialen Science Fiction als Ausgangspunkt für neue Visionen.


Ophelia Young

Porträt von Ophelia Young
Residenz:

Ophelia Young (she/her) ist Tänzerin und Performerin und arbeitet international in unterschiedlichen Zusammenhängen und Kollaborationen.

Mehr Infos

Sie ist hybrid in institutionellen Kontexten und freischaffend tätig. Seit einigen Jahren versucht sie den Spagat zwischen performen «für andere» und selbst initiierten Projekten, zu machen. Sie lebt in Basel. 

Ihr Interesse ist Themen des «Menschseins» mit Bewegung zu verbinden und in transdisziplinären Kontexten zu verarbeiten und erfahrbar zu machen.
In ihrem LAB möchte sie an diesem Ansatz weiterarbeiten:
Wie erschafft man als Kreierende Situationen in denen sich eine Öffentlichkeit versammeln kann um sich somatisch, spielerisch und intellektuell mit Themen auseinanderzusetzen und vielleicht in der Konsequenz eine Erfahrung, eine Erkenntnis und/oder eine reflektierte Haltung zu einem Thema zu bekommen. 

An dem Themengebiet Emotionen haftet sie seit Jahren – dem emotionalen Körper. Emotionalität möchte sie in Beziehung zu gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhängen, wie Arbeit und Öffentlichkeit, erforschen. Wie mensch diese wertvollen Informationen, die der Körper permanent liefert, nutzen kann, um zu Schaffen, um in Beziehung zu treten und kreativ miteinander und füreinander zu wirken? 

Artmann&Duvoisin, Ensemble Ballett Basel, Ben J Riepe, Christine Auberger, Dimitris Papaioannou, Fabrice Mazliah, Julie Shanahan, Katharina Weisheit, L Twills, Magdalena Weniger/ KOMA&Ko, Maria Schmid, Mario Eick, Mertixel Aumedes, Michaela Christensen, Mirjam Klebel, Nazareth Panadero, OFEN Co-Arts Platform, Oleg Stepanov, Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch, Tim Etchells, PACT Zollverein, Pina Bausch Foundation, Regina Advento, Rodolpho Leoni, Rosi Kunz, Saar Magal, Stefan Brinkmann, Saburo Teshigawara und Rihoko Sato, Malou Airaudo, Senga Nengudi, uvvm.* 

*Selektive Auflistung einflussreicher Begegnungen in alphabetischer Reihenfolge,
Diese wird der eklektischen Masse an Einflüssen und wertvollen Begegnungen jedoch nicht gerecht <3 


Robin Michel

Porträt von Robin Michel
© Balázs Mohai
Residenz:

Robin Michel (he/him) ist ein elektronischer Musiker und Künstler mit einem breiten Fokus auf elektronische Klangerzeugung.

Mehr Infos

Seine Beschäftigung mit elektronischer Musik reicht von Computermusik über Drumcomputer und analoge Synthesizer bis hin zu modularen Synthesizern und DIY-Projekten. Er ist auch in verschiedenen Musikprojekten aktiv. Anfang des Jahres war Michel zusammen mit Mikolaj Rytowski mit der audiovisuellen Performance «Kolloid» im In- und Ausland unterwegs. Neben Konzerten in der Schweiz konnten sie «Kolloid»  auch in der Naxos Halle in Frankfurt und im «House of Music Hungary»  in Budapest aufführen.

Zurzeit arbeitet Michel an einer Installation für das Festival Rümlingen und zusammen mit der Komponistin Anna Sowa sowie dem Duo Mao Zhu und Li Kun am Projekt «Bamboo Shoots» im Rahmen des Co-Creation-Projekts von Pro Helvetia. Nach seinem ersten Bachelorstudium am Institut Kunst Basel absolvierte er ein weiteres Bachelorstudium sowie ein Masterstudium in Audiodesign an der Musikakademie Basel. 2022 erhielt er den ersten Eduard Brunner Kompositionspreis für das Stück «Formen». Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Musiker arbeitet er freiberuflich an der technischen Entwicklung und dem Sounddesign für Kunstprojekte und Ausstellungen.