is_wheelchair_accessible This event is wheelchair accessible.
has_inductionloop This event has induction loop.
is_translated English with English and German surtitles

Fetching prices

© Susan Hay

For Marc Brew, it was a car accident that turned him from a ballet dancer into a paraplegic from one second to the next. Marc Brew and Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui join forces for the first time to create a solo about this drastic event and the changes it brought about. Based on their own life stories and key moments, the two choreographers explore in a visually rich evening what it means when everything in life suddenly turns upside down. At the centre of the choreography is not just this one moment, but also the question of how people deal with such a stroke of fate.

An Accident is about vulnerability, resistance and the idea of the body as a map of one's own experiences. The two internationally renowned artists, who are working together for the first time, attempt to find new forms of movement and question socially standardised images of people with disabilities. Brew's paralysed body becomes a projection screen for many deeply human questions: What do we do when the planned path of life changes? How much determination is there in us and can new, different paths be found as a result? What does it take to come closer together as a society?

An Accident is a poignant reminder of why life-changing moments don't necessarily define who we are, how experiences shape us and how, when shared, we can learn from each other.

As part of  Migros-Kulturprozent Dance Festival Steps.

With stroboscobic light effects.

Duration: 90 minutes
Age recommendation: 14+
Website: Marc Brew Eastman

Biografie

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui is one of the most celebrated and globally successful choreographers of contemporary dance and the artistic director of the Ballet du Grand Théâtre de Genève. The Belgian artist with Moroccan roots moves between different cultures and dance languages. He has choreographed for both Beyoncé and Cirque du Soleil and has already realised over fifty of his own productions over the course of his long career, including with his company Eastman, which he founded in 2010. In addition to numerous awards, including three "Choreographer of the Year" awards from the trade magazine "Tanz", two "Olivier Awards" and the KAIROS Prize, he was nominated for a "Tony Award" in the best choreography category for the musical Jagged Little Pill on Broadway in New York in 2020. Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui has been Artistic Director of Opera Ballet Vlaanderen in Antwerp since 2015 before moving to the Grand Théâtre in Geneva as Ballet Director in 2022. With Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, one of the most important choreographers of our time is returning to the Migros Culture Percentage Dance Festival Steps.

Marc Brew is a Scottish-based dancer and choreographer. The Australian received his training in Melbourne at the Victorian College of the Arts Secondary School and at the Australian Ballet School. He has lived and worked in the UK for over twenty years, where he has worked for the inclusive dance company Candoco Dance Company, among others. Further engagements have taken Brew around the world as a dancer, choreographer, teacher and director, including with the State Theatre Ballet Company of South Africa, Infinity Dance Theatre in New York and AXIS Dance Company, where he was artistic director from 2017 to 2021. Brew founded his own company in 2008. Since then, he has created numerous choreographies, including for the San Francisco Ballet School, Dancing Wheels, Scottish Ballet and Ballet Cymru in Wales, where he is currently an Associated Artist. Marc Brew was honoured by the Australian Government with the Centenary Medal for his outstanding contribution as a dancer and choreographer. For Steps he is working with Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui for the first time.

Credits

Director

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

Performance and co-creation

Marc Brew

Design

Pepijn Van Looy

Composition

Alexandre Dai Castaing

Costume

Verlee Van den Wouwer

Voice Coach

Susan Worsford

Lighting Consultant

Adam Carrée

Producer

Susan Hay

Production Management

Jools Walls

Stage Management

Mickey Graham

Co-production and support

Eastman, Creative Scotland, Access to Work, Hessisches Staatsballett, Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps, Tramway, The Work Room Glasgow, Australian Council for the Arts, Holland Dance Festival

© Filip Van Roe

is_wheelchair_accessible Diese Veranstaltung ist rollstuhlgängig.
has_inductionloop Diese Veranstaltung hat Induktionsschleife.
is_translated Englisch mit englischen und deutschen Übertiteln

Preise werden geladen

© Susan Hay

Für Marc Brew war es ein Autounfall, der ihn von einer Sekunde zur nächsten vom Balletttänzer zum Querschnittsgelähmten machte. Marc Brew und Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui schliessen sich zum ersten Mal zusammen und kreieren gemeinsam ein Solo über dieses einschneidende Ereignis und die Veränderungen daraus. Ausgehend von den eigenen Lebensgeschichten und Schlüsselmomenten erforschen die beiden Choreografen in einem bildreichen Abend was es bedeutet, wenn im Leben plötzlich alles kopfsteht. Im Zentrum der Choreografie steht jedoch nicht nur dieser eine Moment, sondern auch die Frage, wie der Mensch mit einem solchen Schicksalsschlag umgeht.

An Accident erzählt von Verletzlichkeit, Widerständigkeit und der Idee eines Körpers als Landkarte der eigenen Erfahrungen. Die beiden international bekannten Künstler, die zum ersten Mal zusammenarbeiten, versuchen dafür neue Formen von Bewegung zu finden, und hinterfragen gesellschaftlich normierte Bilder von Menschen mit Behinderungen. Brews gelähmter Körper wird zur Projektionsfläche vieler zutiefst menschlicher Fragen: Was tun, wenn sich der geplante Lebensweg verändert? Wie viel Entschlossenheit steckt in uns und lassen sich dadurch neue, andere Wege finden? Was braucht es, um sich als Gesellschaft einander annähern zu können?

An Accident führt uns auf ergreifende Weise vor Augen, warum lebensverändernde Momente nicht unbedingt definieren müssen, wer wir sind, wie Erfahrungen uns formen und wie wir – wenn wir sie teilen – voneinander lernen können.

"Erschütternde Schönheit und leuchtender, lebensbejahender Geist" - The Herald (über «For Now, I am...»)

Im Rahmen des Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps.

Mit stroboskopischen Lichteffekten.

Dauer: 90 Minuten
Altersempfehlung: 14+
Website: Marc Brew Eastman

Biografie

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui ist einer der gefeiertsten und weltweit erfolgreichsten Choreografen des zeitgenössischen Tanzes und der Künstlerische Leiter des Ballet du Grand Théâtre de Genève. Der belgische Künstler mit marokkanischen Wurzeln bewegt sich zwischen verschiedenen Kulturen und Tanzsprachen. Er choreografierte sowohl für Beyoncé als auch für den Cirque du Soleil und realisierte im Laufe seiner langen Karriere bereits über fünfzig eigene Produktionen, unter anderem mit seiner 2010 gegründeten Compagnie Eastman. Neben zahlreichen Auszeichnungen, unter anderem dreimal «Choreograf des Jahres» der Fachzeitschrift «Tanz», zwei «Olivier Awards» und der KAIROS-Preis, wurde er 2020 für einen «Tony Award» in der Kategorie beste Choreografie für das Musical Jagged Little Pill am Broadway in New York nominiert. Seit 2015 war Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui Künstlerischer Leiter des Opera Ballet Vlaanderen in Antwerpen, bevor er 2022 als Ballettdirektor ans Grand Théâtre nach Genf wechselte. Mit Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui kehrt einer der bedeutendsten Choreografen der Gegenwart zurück ans Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps.

Marc Brew ist ein in Schottland beheimateter Tänzer und Choreograf. Seine Ausbildung erhielt der Australier in Melbourne am Victorian College of the Arts Secondary School und an der Australian Ballet School. Seit über zwanzig Jahren lebt und arbeitet er in Grossbritannien, wo er unter anderem für die inklusive Tanzcompagnie Candoco Dance Company tätig war. Weitere Engagements führten Brew als Tänzer, Choreograf, Lehrer und Regisseur um die ganze Welt, unter anderem zur State Theatre Ballet Company of South Africa, zum Infinity Dance Theatre in New York und zur AXIS Dance Company, wo er von 2017 bis 2021 die künstlerische Leitung innehatte. 2008 gründete Brew seine eigene Compagnie. Seitdem sind zahlreiche Choreografien entstanden, unter anderem für die San Francisco Ballet School, Dancing Wheels, Scottish Ballet und Ballet Cymru in Wales, wo er derzeit Associated Artist ist. Marc Brew wurde von der australischen Regierung mit der Centenary Medal für seinen herausragenden Beitrag als Tänzer und Choreograf ausgezeichnet. Für Steps arbeitet er zum ersten Mal mit Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui zusammen.

Credits

Regie

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

Performance und Ko-Kreation

Marc Brew

Design

Pepijn Van Looy

Komposition

Alexandre Dai Castaing

Kostüme

Verlee Van den Wouwer

Voice Coach

Susan Worsford

Beratung Licht

Adam Carrée

Produzentin

Susan Hay

Produktionsleitung

Jools Walls

Inspizienz

Mickey Graham

Koproduktion und Unterstützung

Eastman, Creative Scotland, Access to Work, Hessisches Staatsballett, Migros-Kulturprozent Tanzfestival Steps, Tramway, The Work Room Glasgow, Australian Council for the Arts, Holland Dance Festival

© Filip Van Roe