is_wheelchair_accessible This event is wheelchair accessible.
has_inductionloop This event has induction loop.
is_translated Language: English and German

Fetching prices

© David Baltzer

Congrats: Silver Lion for Gob Squad, Biennale di Venezia 2024

The performance stars from the German-English theatre collective Gob Squad swarm out into the evening streets. Their experiences from four camera angles come together on the big screen to create a unique, deeply funny and moving snapshot of a city, with all the secret stars of the evening that they meet along the way. The banalities of everyday life meet the glitz and glamour of Hollywood. It is a completely unpredictable show that elevates the mundane to the epic and plays with the perception of the familiar. Since its premiere in 2003, Super Night Shot has taken the Berlin collective Gob Squad to numerous cities around the world with over 200 performances on six continents - and now finally to Basel.

“Each of us is just one in a million, easy to replace and easy to forget in a city that doesn’t really need us. But don’t worry. We’re going to change all that. We’ve got a plan. This city will need us and this film will be our witness.” (Gob Squad)

Duration: 75 minutes

Biography

Gob Squad is a seven-member binational and bilingual (English/German) artists' collective. They have been working together since 1994 on the conception, staging and presentation of live performances in the border area of theatre, art and media. They are constantly searching for new forms and ways of media and performative expression and switch accordingly between the formats of stage performance, video installation, interactive live film and urban intervention.

In their search for beauty in the banal, they place their works not only in theatres and galleries but also in the middle of the urban environment. Utopian scenarios always meet the reality of a concrete situation, the outcome of which is often uncertain. Gob Squad also look for encounters with viewers and passers-by that go beyond the classic relationship of reception.

The collective was founded in Nottingham by former students of Nottingham Trent University and graduates of Applied Theatre Studies Giessen. Since 1999, Berlin has become the artistic centre and production location. Permanent members are: Johanna Freiburg, Sean Patten, Sharon Smith, Berit Stumpf, Sarah Thom, Bastian Trost and Simon Will. They are joined by Eva Hartmann for management and a pool of collaborators with whom the group works in changing constellations.

Credits

Concept by

Gob Squad

Devised by

Johanna Freiburg, Sean Patten, Elyce Semenec, Berit Stumpf, Sarah Thom, Bastian Trost and Simon Will and Mat Hand, Erik Pold, Ilia Papatheodorou and Laura Tonke

Performed by

passers-by and four of the above

Sound design

Sebastian Bark, Jeff McGrory, Jeffrey Fisher

Artistic Support

Nina Tecklenburg

First performance

5.12.2003 Prater at Volksbühne, Berlin, Germany

Commissioned by

Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz Berlin.

With research and development funding from

the Arts Council of England East Midlands.

Gob Squad work collectively, without a director, on the concept, design, devising and performing of their work. Permanent members of the group are Sean Patten, Berit Stumpf, Sarah Thom, Simon Will, Bastian Trost and Johanna Freiburg. Other artists are invited to collaborate on particular projects. For Super Night Shot, Gob Squad are joined by performance/video artist Elyce Semenec. The soundtrack was produced by sound designers Sebastian Bark and Jeff McGrory in collaboration with the company.

is_wheelchair_accessible Diese Veranstaltung ist rollstuhlgängig.
has_inductionloop Diese Veranstaltung hat Induktionsschleife.
is_translated Sprache: Englisch und Deutsch

Preise werden geladen

© David Baltzer

Congrats: Silberner Löwe für Gob Squad bei der Biennale di Venezia 2024

Die Performance-Stars vom deutsch-englischen Theaterkollektiv Gob Squad schwärmen aus in die abendlichen Strassen. Ihre Erlebnisse aus vier Kameraperspektiven fügen sich auf grosser Leinwand zu einer einzigartigen, zutiefst komischen und bewegenden Momentaufnahme einer Stadt zusammen, mit all den heimlichen Stars des Abends, denen sie unterwegs begegnet sind. Die Banalitäten des alltäglichen Lebens treffen auf den Glanz und Glamour Hollywoods. Es ist eine völlig unvorhersehbare Show, die das Alltägliche ins Epische steigert und mit der Wahrnehmung des Vertrauten spielt. Seit der Premiere 2003 führte Super Night Shot das Berliner Kollektiv Gob Squad bereits in zahlreiche Städte der Welt mit über 200 Vorstellungen auf inzwischen sechs Kontinenten – und nun endlich auch nach Basel.

“Jede*r von uns nur eine*r von Millionen, leicht zu ersetzen und leicht zu vergessen in einer Stadt, die uns nicht wirklich braucht. Aber keine Sorge… Wir werden das ändern. Wir haben einen Plan: Diese Stadt wird uns brauchen und Super Night Shot wird der Beweis dafür sein.” (Gob Squad)

Dauer: 75 Minuten

Biografie

Gob Squad ist ein siebenköpfiges binationales und bilinguales (englisch/deutsch) Künstler*innenkollektiv. Gemeinsam arbeiten sie seit 1994 an der Konzeption, Inszenierung und Darstellung von Live-Performances im Grenzbereich von Theater, Kunst und Medien. Sie suchen stets nach neuen Formen und Wegen medialer und performativer Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten und wechseln entsprechend zwischen den Formaten Bühnen-Performance, Videoinstallation, interaktivem Live-Film und urbaner Intervention.

Auf der Suche nach Schönheit im Banalen platzieren sie ihre Werke neben Theatern und Galerien auch mitten in der urbanen Lebenswelt. Utopische Szenarien treffen stets auf die Realität einer konkreten Situation, deren Ausgang oft ungewiss ist. Dabei suchen Gob Squad auch nach Begegnungen mit Zuschauer*innen und Passant*innen, die über das klassische Rezeptionsverhältnis hinausgehen.

Das Kollektiv gründete sich in Nottingham aus ehemaligen Studierenden der Nottingham Trent University und Absolvent*innen der Angewandten Theaterwissenschaften Giessen. Seit 1999 ist Berlin zum künstlerischen Zentrum und Produktionsstandort geworden. Feste Mitglieder sind: Johanna Freiburg, Sean Patten, Sharon Smith, Berit Stumpf, Sarah Thom, Bastian Trost und Simon Will. Hinzu kommen Eva Hartmann für Management und ein Pool von Kollaborateur*innen, mit denen die Gruppe in wechselnden Konstellationen zusammen arbeitet.

Credits

Konzept 

Gob Squad

Entwickelt von

Johanna Freiburg, Sean Patten, Elyce Semenec, Berit Stumpf, Sarah Thom, Bastian Trost und Simon Will sowie Mat Hand, Erik Pold, Ilia Papatheodorou und Laura Tonke

Performance

Passanten und vier der oben genannten Personen

Sounddesign

Sebastian Bark, Jeff McGrory, Jeffrey Fisher

Künstlerische Unterstützung

Nina Tecklenburg

Uraufführung

5.12.2003 Prater an der Volksbühne, Berlin, Deutschland

In Auftrag gegeben von

Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz Berlin.

Mit Forschungs- und Entwicklungsmitteln des 

Arts Council of England East Midlands

Gob Squad arbeiten kollektiv, ohne einen Regisseur, an der Konzeption, Gestaltung, Ausarbeitung und Aufführung ihrer Arbeit. Ständige Mitglieder der Gruppe sind Sean Patten, Berit Stumpf, Sarah Thom, Simon Will, Bastian Trost und Johanna Freiburg. Andere Künstler werden eingeladen, an bestimmten Projekten mitzuarbeiten. Für Super Night Shot wird Gob Squad von der Performance-/Videokünstlerin Elyce Semenec unterstützt. Der Soundtrack wurde von den Sounddesignern Sebastian Bark und Jeff McGrory in Zusammenarbeit mit der Firma produziert.