has_inductionloop This event has induction loop.
has_childcare With child care on Saturday
→ Reithalle
→ Reithalle
Pay what you want:   25.- /  35.- /  45.-  
Foto von Skater und Skaterinnen
© Bea Borgers

They fly through the air and defy gravity, compete in trick contests, basketball matches and jam sessions, and race around the course of ramps and rails in countless laps. People from different communities come together in the skate park. Legend has it that skateboarding was born one day, when low waves forced surfers onto the asphalt of Los Angeles. Since then, skateboarding has evolved into a choreography of its own. Now, in our cities, skaters are conquering public space.

Together with skaters and dancers, Danish choreographer Mette Ingvartsen expands the current dance vocabulary to include kickflips, 180s and boardslides - a vivid reminder of her own youth, when she was a skater herself. The stage set was designed in collaboration with a skate park planner and transforms the indoor arena into a landscape of ramps and railings. The performance is far more than just a spectacle of virtuoso tricks. The physically challenging performance flirts with thrills, playfully pushes the boundaries of what is possible and creates a utopian community. Incidentally, a small skate park will be docked on the Kasernenplatz for the entire duration of the festival. Local skaters will also play a special role in the performance: the first scene of the performance belongs to them!

Flip the curtain - from the stage to the street. Who will land the best trick of the festival? After the first performance on August 31, there will be a contest at 8.30 p.m. in the skate park at the festival centre. You don't need to register, just turn up and deliver.

As a part of Theaterfestival Basel.

Duration: 80 minutes

Biography

Mette Ingvartsen is a Danish choreographer and dancer. From 1999 she studied in Amsterdam and Brussels where she in 2004 graduated from the performing arts school P.A.R.T.S. Her first performance Manual Focus (2003) was made while she was still studying. Her early pieces comprise among others of 50/50 (2004), to come (2005), It’s in The Air (2008) and GIANT CITY (2009) – performances questioning affect, perception and sensation in relation to bodily representation. Her work is characterized by hybridity and engages in extending choreographic practices by combining dance and movement with other domains such as visual art, technology, language and theory.

Credits

Concept & Choreography

Mette Ingvartsen

Performers

Damien Delsaux, Manuel Faust, Aline Boas, Mary Pop Wheels, Sam Gelis, Fouad Nafili, Júlia Rúbies Subirós, Thomas Bîrzan, Briek Neuckermans, Indreas Kifleyesus, Arthur Vannes, Camille Gecchele, Mathias Thiers and local skaters

Choreographic Assistant

Michaël Pomero

Sound Design

Anne van de Star and Peter Lenaerts

Light Design

Minna Tiikkainen

Dramaturgy

Bojana Cvejić

Costumes

Jennifer Defays

Music

Felix Kubin, Mord Records, Why the eye, sonaBLAST! Records, Rrose, The Fanny Pads, Restive Plaggona

Scenography

Pierre Jambé/Antidote

Technical Design Set

Stéphane Thonnard

Construction Set

Construction workshop of Théâtre National Bruxelles: Joachim Pochet, Joachim Hesse, Pierre Jardon, Yves Philippaerts, Andrea Messana, Boyd Gates

Technical Direction

Hans Meijer

Sound Technicians

Milan Van Doren, Yrjänä Rankka, Filip Vilhelmsson

Light Technicians

Bennert Vancottem, Jan-Simon De Lille

Supervisor Kids

Billie Meeussen, Victor Perez Hernandez

Production and administration officer

Joey Ng

Production

Oihana Azpillaga Camio

Communication

Jeroen Goffings

Management

Ruth Collier

Production

Great Investment vzw

Coproduction

La Danse en grande forme (Cndc – Angers, Malandain Ballet Biarritz, La Manufacture CDCN Nouvelle-Aquitaine Bordeaux · La Rochelle, CCN de Caen en Normandie, L’échangeur – CDCN Hauts-de-France, CCN2 – Grenoble, La Briqueterie – CDCN du Val de Marne, CCN – Ballet national de Marseille, CCN de Nantes, CCN d’Orléans, Atelier de Paris / CDCN, Le Gymnase CDCN Roubaix – Hauts-de-France, La Place de La Danse – CDCN Toulouse – Occitanie, La MC2 – Grenoble), Ruhrtriennale, Wiener Festwochen & Tanzquartier Wien, La Villette & Théâtre Chaillot, deSingel, Kaaitheater & Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles, Kunstencentrum VIERNULVIER, Next Festival, Charleroi danse centre chorégraphique de Wallonie – Bruxelles, Theater Rotterdam, Perpodium

Supported by

Fondation d’entreprise Hermès, Wilhelm Hansen Fonden

Residency

Rosas, Charleroi danse centre chorégraphique de Wallonie – Bruxelles, deSingel

Great Investment is supported by

The Flemish Authorities, The Flemish Community Commission (VGC), Tax Shelter of the Belgian Federal Government & The Danish Arts Council

The guest performance is produced in cooperation with Mousonturm Frankfurt and Tanz im August / HAU Hebbel am Ufer.

has_inductionloop Diese Veranstaltung hat Induktionsschleife.
has_childcare Mit Kinderbetruung am Samstag
→ Reithalle
→ Reithalle
Zahl was du kannst:   25.- /  35.- /  45.-  
Foto von Skater und Skaterinnen
© Bea Borgers

Sie fliegen durch die Luft und trotzen der Schwerkraft, messen sich in Trick-Contests, Basketball-Matches und Jam-Sessions, und jagen in unzähligen Runden über den Parcours aus Rampen und Rails. Im Skatepark kommen Menschen aus verschiedenen Gemeinschaften zusammen. Die Legende besagt, dass das Skateboarding eines Tages geboren wurde, als niedrige Wellen die Surfer*innen auf den Asphalt von Los Angeles zwangen. Seitdem hat sich Skateboarding zu einer eigenen Choreografie entwickelt. Aufgeführt in unseren Städten, erobern Skater*innen den öffentlichen Raum.

Gemeinsam mit Skater*innen und Tänzer*innen erweitert die dänische Choreografin Mette Ingvartsen das gängige Tanzvokabular um Kickflips, 180s und Boardslides – eine lebendige Erinnerung an ihre eigene Jugend, in der sie selbst Skaterin war. Das Bühnenbild wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Skatepark-Planer entworfen und verwandelt die Reithalle in eine Landschaft aus Rampen und Geländern. Die Performance ist dabei weit mehr als nur ein Spektakel virtuoser Tricks. Die körperlich herausfordernde Aufführung flirtet mit dem Nervenkitzel, verschiebt spielerisch die Grenzen des Machbaren und lässt eine utopische Gemeinschaft entstehen. Für die gesamte Dauer des Festivals wird übrigens ein kleiner Skatepark auf dem Kasernenplatz angedockt. Und auch in der Aufführung spielen die lokalen Skater*innen eine besondere Rolle: Die erste Szene der Aufführung gehört ihnen!

Flip the curtain – von der Bühne auf die Strasse. Wer landet den besten Trick des Festivals? Nach der ersten Vorstellung am 31.8. findet um 20:30 Uhr im Skatepark beim Festivalzentrum ein Contest statt. Anmeldung braucht es keine, einfach kommen und abliefern.

Du hast noch nie auf einem Skateboard gestanden aber Lust bekommen? Wir bieten auch Workshops für Anfänger*innen an! 

Im Rahmen des Theaterfestival Basel.

Aufgrund der besonderen Bühnensituation ist diese Veranstaltung leider nicht rollstuhlgängig.

Dauer: 80 Minuten
Altersempfehlung: 12+

Kinderbetreuung: Anmeldungen bitte über folgendes Formular. Treffpunkt ist jeweils eine halbe Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Festivalzentrum auf dem Kasernenareal.

Biografie

Mette Ingvartsen ist eine dänische Choreografin und Tänzerin. Ab 1999 studierte sie in Amsterdam und Brüssel, wo sie 2004 ihren Abschluss an der Performing Arts School P.A.R.T.S. machte. Ihre erste Performance Manual Focus (2003) entstand noch während ihres Studiums. Zu ihren frühen Stücken gehören unter anderem 50/50 (2004), to come (2005), It's in The Air (2008) und GIANT CITY (2009) - Performances, die Affekt, Wahrnehmung und Empfindung in Bezug auf körperliche Repräsentation hinterfragen. Ihre Arbeit zeichnet sich durch Hybridität aus und erweitert choreografische Praktiken, indem sie Tanz und Bewegung mit anderen Bereichen wie bildender Kunst, Technologie, Sprache und Theorie kombiniert. 

Credits

Konzept & Choreografie

Mette Ingvartsen

Darsteller*innen

Damien Delsaux, Manuel Faust, Aline Boas, Mary Pop Wheels, Sam Gelis, Fouad Nafili, Júlia Rúbies Subirós, Thomas Bîrzan, Briek Neuckermans, Indreas Kifleyesus, Arthur Vannes, Camille Gecchele, Mathias Thiers und lokale Skater*innen

Choreografische Assistenz

Michaël Pomero

Tontechnik

Anne van de Star und Peter Lenaerts

Lichtdesign

Minna Tiikkainen

Dramaturgie

Bojana Cvejić

Kostüme

Jennifer Defays

Musik

Felix Kubin, Mord Records, Why the eye, sonaBLAST! Records, Rrose, Die Fanny Pads, Restive Plaggona

Bühnenbild

Pierre Jambé/Antidote

Technischer Entwurf des Bühnenbilds

Stéphane Thonnard

Bau des Bühnenbildes

Bauwerkstatt des Théâtre National Bruxelles: Joachim Pochet, Joachim Hesse, Pierre Jardon, Yves Philippaerts, Andrea Messana, Boyd Gates

Technische Leitung

Hans Meijer

Tontechniker

Milan Van Doren, Yrjänä Rankka, Filip Vilhelmsson

Lichttechniker

Bennert Vancottem, Jan-Simon De Lille

Betreuung Kinder

Billie Meeussen, Victor Perez Hernandez

Produktions- und Verwaltungsbeauftragter

Joey Ng

Produktion

Oihana Azpillaga Camio

Kommunikation

Jeroen Goffings

Management

Ruth Collier

Produktion 

Great Investment vzw

Koproduktion

La Danse en grande forme (Cndc - Angers, Malandain Ballet Biarritz, La Manufacture CDCN Nouvelle-Aquitaine Bordeaux - La Rochelle, CCN de Caen en Normandie, L'échangeur - CDCN Hauts-de-France, CCN2 - Grenoble, La Briqueterie - CDCN du Val de Marne, CCN - Ballet national de Marseille, CCN de Nantes, CCN d'Orléans, Atelier de Paris / CDCN, Le Gymnase CDCN Roubaix - Hauts-de-France, La Place de La Danse - CDCN Toulouse - Occitanie, La MC2 - Grenoble), Ruhrtriennale, Wiener Festwochen & Tanzquartier Wien, La Villette & Théâtre Chaillot, deSingel, Kaaitheater & Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles, Kunstencentrum VIERNULVIER, Next Festival, Charleroi danse centre chorégraphique de Wallonie - Bruxelles, Theater Rotterdam, Perpodium.

Unterstützt von

Fondation d'entreprise Hermès, Wilhelm Hansen Fonden

Residency

Rosas, Charleroi danse centre chorégraphique de Wallonie - Bruxelles, deSingel.

Great Investment wird unterstützt von

The Flemish Authorities, The Flemish Community Commission (VGC), Tax Shelter of the Belgian Federal Government & The Danish Arts Council.
 

Das Gastspiel findet, auch aus ökologischen Gründen, in Zusammenarbeit mit Mousonturm Frankfurtund HAU Hebbel am Ufer statt.