is_wheelchair_accessible This event is wheelchair accessible.

Fetching prices

It barely gets dark. In the twilight, the performers cast a spell over us. They move in the box step, a sequence from social dances, and break out of it with sensual, exuberant and alienated gestures. On the threshold of visibility and invisibility, a dizzying dynamic of collectivity, intimacy and dependence emerges. Over the course of three hours, during which the audience can come and go as they please, the performance develops a community-building and trance-like power through repetitive, slightly shifting rhythms and evokes changing associations: a ghostly gathering, a coming together in resistance or mourning, the faded memories of a rave. 

Duration: 3 hours, the audience can enter and leave anytime.

Biography

Alex Baczyński-Jenkins is an artist and choreographer working with queer affects, embodiment and relationality. Through gesture, collectivity, touch and sensuality, his practice unfolds structures and politics of desire. Relationality is present in the dialogue-based way in which the work is developed and performed, as well as in the materials he invokes. This includes tracing relationships between sensation and sociality, embodied expression and alienation, the textures of everyday experience, utopian and latent queer histories. Baczyński-Jenkins approaches choreography as a form of reflection on feelings, perception and collective emergence, while engaging in other ways of experiencing memory, time and change. He is a co-founder of Kem, a Warsaw-based queer-feminist collective focussing on choreography, performance and sound in practice.


 

Credits

Choreography

Alex Baczyński-Jenkins

Performed by and developed with

Aaa Biczysko, Ewa Dziarnowska, Rafał Pierzyński, Ronald Berger and Sigrid Stigsdatter

Developed with

Aaa Biczysko, Ewa Dziarnowska, Rafał Pierzyński, Sigrid Stigsdatter, Tiran Willemse

Production management

Ola Knychalska

Sound, lighting

Krzysztof Bagiński

Sound research

Jana Androsova, Krzysztof Bagiński, Tobias Koch and Filip Lech

Styling consulting

Rafał Domagła

Studio manager

Andrea Rodrigo

Studio manager

Sarie Nijboer

Distribution

Something Great

A production by

Alex Baczyński-Jenkins. Developed as part of Kem's residency at Ujazdowski Castle Centre for Contemporary Art, Warsaw. Originally commissioned for the Frieze Artist Award 2018, in partnership with the Delfina Foundation, and presented as part of Frieze Projects, curated by Diana Campbell Betancourt. The guest performance as part of Queer Darlings #4 is made possible by the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe.

Media partners

Berlin Art Link, Rausgegangen, Missy Magazine, Siegessäule, tipBerlin, taz.die tageszeitung

is_wheelchair_accessible Diese Veranstaltung ist rollstuhlgängig.

Preise werden geladen

Der polnisch-britische Künstler und Choreograf Alex Baczyński-Jenkins setzt für seine Performances kleinste Gesten, Tanz und minimale Bühnenbilder ein, um Verlangen, Entfremdung und Kollektivität nachzuspüren. Seine Praxis beschäftigt sich vor allem mit der Vermittlung und der Politik von queeren Begehrlichkeiten und lässt uns an Affekt und Intimität teilhaben. Im Zwielicht ziehen uns fünf Performer*innen in ihren Bann. Sie bewegen sich im Box Step, einer Schrittfolge aus Gesellschaftstänzen, mit sinnlichen, überschwänglichen und entfremdeten Gesten. Im Laufe von drei Stunden, in denen das Publikum kommen und gehen kann, wie es will, entwickelt die Performance eine gemeinschaftsbildende und tranceähnliche Kraft und ruft wechselnde Assoziationen hervor: eine geisterhafte Versammlung, ein Zusammenkommen im Widerstand oder in Trauer, die verblassten Erinnerungen an einen Rave.

Dauer: 3h, das Publikum kann den Raum nach Belieben betreten und verlassen.
Instagram Alex Baczyński-Jenkins

Biografie

Alex Baczyński-Jenkins ist Künstler und Choreograf und beschäftigt sich mit queeren Affekten, Verkörperung und Relationalität. Durch Gesten, Kollektivität, Berührung und Sinnlichkeit entfaltet seine Praxis Strukturen und Politiken des Begehrens. Relationalität ist präsent in der dialogischen Art und Weise, in der die Arbeit entwickelt und aufgeführt wird, sowie in den Materialien, die er aufruft. Dazu gehört das Aufspüren von Beziehungen zwischen Empfindung und Sozialität, verkörpertem Ausdruck und Entfremdung, den Texturen der Alltagserfahrung, den utopischen und latenten queeren Geschichten. Baczyński-Jenkins nähert sich der Choreografie als eine Form der Reflexion über Gefühle, Wahrnehmung und kollektives Entstehen, während er sich auf andere Arten der Erfahrung von Erinnerung, Zeit und Veränderung einlässt. Er ist Mitbegründer von Kem, einem in Warschau ansässigen queer-feministischen Kollektiv, das sich auf Choreografie, Performance und Sound an der Praxis fokussiert.


 

Credits

Choreografie 

Alex Baczyński-Jenkins

Performt von und entwickelt mit

Aaa Biczysko, Ewa Dziarnowska, Rafał Pierzyński, Ronald Berger und Sigrid Stigsdatter

Entwickelt mit

Aaa Biczysko, Ewa Dziarnowska, Rafał Pierzyński, Sigrid Stigsdatter, Tiran Willemse

Produktionsleitung 

Ola Knychalska

Sound, Licht 

Krzysztof Bagiński

Sound Research 

Jana Androsova, Krzysztof Bagiński, Tobias Koch und Filip Lech

Styling Beratung 

Rafał Domagła

Studioleiterin 

Andrea Rodrigo

Studiomanagerin 

Sarie Nijboer

Distribution

Something Great

Eine Produktion von 

Alex Baczyński-Jenkins. Entwickelt im Rahmen von Kems Residency im Ujazdowski Castle Center for Contemporary Art, Warschau. Ursprünglich in Auftrag gegeben für den Frieze Artist Award 2018, in Partnerschaft mit der Delfina Foundation, und präsentiert als Teil der Frieze Projects, kuratiert von Diana Campbell Betancourt. Das Gastspiel im Rahmen von Queer Darlings #4 wird ermöglicht durch die Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. 

Medienpartner

Berlin Art Link, Rausgegangen, Missy Magazine, Siegessäule, tipBerlin, taz.die tageszeitung